UCR

Statistics



Graduate Students


Arvanitis

Matthew (Matt) Arvanitis

2001 B.S. Mathematical Sciences, CSU, San Marcos, CA
2008 M.S. General Math, CSU, Long Beach, CA
Research Interests: Sustainability, Energy Policy, Macroeconomics
Mr. Arvanitis may be reached by email at: matthew.arvanitis@email.ucr.edu
 Tyler Brannon

Michael (Tyler) Brannan

2014 B.S. Mathematics, Westmont College, Santa Barbara, CA
2014 B.A. Physics, Westmont College, Santa Barbara, CA
Research Interests: Marked Point Process
Mr. Brannan may be reached by email at michael.brannan@email.ucr.edu

Ashley Cacho

Ashley (Ash) Cacho

2010 B.S. Mathematics, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
2012 M.S. Statistics, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests: Bioinfomatics and Biomedical.
Ms. Cacho may be reached by email at: ashley.cacho@email.ucr.edu
Hailu Chen 

Hailu Chen

2008 B.S. Information and Computer Science, Beijing University of Technology, Beijing, China
2011 M.S. Applied Statistics, Beijing University of Technology, Beijing, China
Research Interests: Variable Selection and Multiple Testing.
Ms. Chen may be reached by email at: hailu.chen@email.ucr.edu

Arnab

 Arnab Chowdhury

2009 B.S. Statistics, University of Calcutta, Kolkata, India
2011 M.S. Statistics, University of Calcutta, Kolkata, India
Research Interests: Probability Models, Statistical Inferences, Multivariate Analysis, Stochastic Process
Mr. Chowdhury may be reached by email at: arnab.chowdhury@email.ucr.edu

Chowdhury

Shrabanti Chowdhury

2009 B.S. Statistics, St. Xavier's College, West Bengal, India
2010 M.S. Statistics, IIT Kanpur, U.P., India
Research Interests: Design of Experiments, Linear Models
Ms. Chowdhury may be reached by email at: shrabanti.chowdhury@email.ucr.edu

Gaitan

Rodrigo Gaitan

2008 B.A. Applied Mathematics, UC San Diego
2010 M.S. Statistics, UC San Diego
Research Interests: Actuarial and Financial Mathematics, Time Series 
Mr. Gaitan may be reached by email at: roberto.gaitan@email.ucr.edu
Gao

Chen Gao

2007 B.E. Statistics, Transportation Management,  Shanghai Maritime University, Shanghai China
2011 M.S. Applied Statistics, California State University, Long Beach, CA
Research Interests: Biostatistics
Ms. Cao may be reached by email at: chen.gao@email.ucr.edu
 Siyan Guo

Siyan Guo

2012 B.S. Physics, Fudan University, China
2015, M.S. Applied Physics, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
Research Interests: Data Mining
Ms. Guo may be reached by email at: siyan.guo@email.ucr.edu

Wenchuan

Wenchuan Guo

2012 B.S. Statistics, Sichuan University, Chengdu, Sichuan, China
2014 M.S. Applied Math, University of Minnesota, Duluth, Duluth, MN
Research Interests: To be Determined
Mr. Guo may be reached by email at: wenchuan.guo@email.ucr.edu

Jianan

Jianan Hui

2010 B.S. Information and Computational Science, University of Science and Technology, Beijing, China
2012 M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas, Arlington
2014 M.S. Statistics, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests: Graph classification, data mining, machine learning, data visualization.
Ms. Hui may be reached by email at: jianan.hui@ucr.edu

 YooJin

YooJin (Vivian) Jeong

2012 B.S. Statistics, UC Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
Research Interests: To be Determined
Ms. Jeong may be reached by email at: yoojin.jeong@email.ucr.edu

 Toan

Toan Khuong

2006 B.A. Art, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests: Natural Sciences (Botany and Plant Science)
Mr. Khuong may be reached by email at: Toan.Khuong@ucr.edu

Luke

Luke Klein

2008 B.A. Liberal Studies with concentration in Business Administration, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests:  Clinical Trials and study design
Mr. Klein may be reached by email at: luke.klein@email.ucr.edu

 Mo Li

Mo Li

M.S. Economics, Kent State University, Kent, OH
Research Interests: Financial Mathematics, Time Series
Ms. Li may be reached by email at: mo.li@email.ucr.edu

 Chen

Chen Lin

B.S. 2011 Statistics, Xiamen University, Xiamen, PRC
M.S. 2013 Statistics, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests: Nonparametric and semiparametric modeling, longitudinal data analysis
Ms. Lin may be reached by email at: chen.lin003@email.ucr.edu

 Ming

Mingming Liu

2013 B.S. Information and Computing Science, Zhengzhou University, Zhengzhou, PRC
Research Interests: Data Mining
Ms. Liu  may be reached by email at: mingming.liu002@email.ucr.edu

 Liu-Y

Ying Liu

2012 B.S. Applied Mathematics, Nankai University, PRC
Research Interests:
Ms. Liu may be reached by email at: ying.liu006@email.ucr.edu

Peng

Hua Peng

2011 B.S. Mathematics, Hebei University of Technology, Tianjin, China
Research Interests: Biostatistics
Ms. Peng may be reached by email at: hua.peng@email.ucr.edu
Luyao

Luyao Peng

2009 B.A. English, Capital Normal University, Beijing, China
2012 M.A. Psycholinguistics, Beijing Language and Capital University, Beijing, China
Research Interests: Psychometrics
Ms. Peng may be reached by email at: luyao.peng@email.ucr.edu

Nathan

Nathan Robertson

2014 B.A. Mathematics, California State University, Fullerton, Fullerton, CA
Research Interests: To be determined
Mr. Robertson may be reached by email at: nathan.robertson@email.ucr.edu

 Sain

Debaleena Sain

2013 B.S. Statistics, University of Calcutta, Kolkata, India
2015 M.S. Statistics, Presidency University, Kolkata, India
Research Interests: Biostatistics, Longitudinal Data Analysis, Bayesian Inference, Stochastic Processes
Ms. Sain man be reached by email at: debaleena.sain@email.ucr.edu

 Scheppelmann

Allison Scheppelmann

2013 B.S. Applied Mathematics, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, CA
Research Interests: Probability Models, Multivariate Analysis, Astrostatistics
Ms. Scheppelmann can be reached by email at: allison.scheppelmann@email.ucr.edu

 Schuberg

Edward Schuberg

2013 B.A. Mathematics, University of Dallas, Irvine, TX
2013 B.A. Economics,  University of Dallas, Irvine, TX
Research Interests: Mixture Models
Mr. Schuberg may be reached by email at:
edward.schuberg@email.ucr.edu

Sigdel

Sakar Sigdel

2007 B.A. Mathematics, Arcadia University, Glenside, PA
2010 M.S. Applied Statistics, West Chester University, West Chester, PA
Research Interests: Experimental design and analysis, biostatistics, regression and categorical data analysis
Mr. Sigdel may be reached by email at: sakar.sigdel@email.ucr.edu
 Sun

Xuan Sun

2015 B.S. Statistics, Beijing University of Technology, Beijing, PRC
Research Interests: Biostatistics or one more related to mathematics.
Ms. Sun may be reached by email at: xuan.sun@email.ucr.edu

 Tian

Chenwei Tian

2013 B.S. Statistics, Peking University, Beijing, PRC
Research Interests: Bioinfomatics and mixed effect models
Ms. Tian may be reached by email at: chenwei.tian@email.ucr.edu

 Van

Samantha VanSchalkwyk

2015 B.A. Mathematics, Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, MA
2015 B.A. Spanish, Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, MA
Research Interests:
Ms. VanSchalkwyk may be reached by email at: samantha.vanschalkwyk@email.ucr.edu

 Wales

Brandon Wales

2012 B.S. Applied Mathematics, University of California, Riverside
2014 M.S. Statistics, University of California, Riverside
Research Interests: Regression + Classification methods and Design of Experiments.
Mr. Wales may be reached by email at: brandon.wales@email.ucr.edu

Hongmei

Hongmei Wang

1999 B.E. Metallic Materials & Heat Treatment, University of Sci. & Tech., Beijing, PRC
2002 MEN, Material Science, University of Sci. & Tech., Beijing, PRC
Ph.D. Microelectronics & Solid State Electronics, Shanghai Jiaotong University, Shanghai, PRC
Research Interests:
Ms. Wang may be reached by email at: hongmei.wang@email.ucr.edu

 Ming

Mingsheng Wang

2007 B.S. Materials Science & Engineering, University of Sci. & Tech., Hefei, PRC
2010 M.S. Materials Science & Engineering, University of Sci. & Tech., Hefei, PRC
Research Interests: Data Mining
Mr. Wang may be reached by email at: mingsheng.wang@email.ucr.edu

 Wang-Yijia

Yijia Wang

2000 B.S. Statistics, East China Normal Univ. PRC
2011 M.S. California State Long Beach, CA
Research Interests:
Ms. Wang may be reached by email at: yijia.wang@email.ucr.edu

 Wichitchan

Supawadee Wichitchan

2007 B.S. Statistics, Silpakorn University, Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
2010 M.S. Statistics, Chulaongkorn University, Bankok, Thailand
Research Interests: Statistics is beneficial in all areas.
Ms. Wichitchan may be reached by email at: supawadee.wichitchan@email.ucr.edu

 Fanjie

Fangjie Xie

2012 B.S. Fashion Design and Engineering, DongHua University, Shanghai, PRC
Research Interests: Data Mining
Ms. Xie may be reached by email at: fangjie.xie@email.ucr.edu

 Shangjie

Shangjie Xu

2012 B.S. Statistics, Nakai University, Tianjin, PRC
Research Interests: Statistical Process Control
Ms. Xu may be reached by email at: shangjie.xu@email.ucr.edu

 Judy

Qijia (Judy) Yun

2015 B.A. Mathematics, UC Davis, Davis, CA
2015 B.A. Design, UC Davis, Davis, CA
Research Interests:
Ms. YUN may be reached by email at: qijia.yun@email.ucr.edu

 Jason

Jason Zellmer

2014 Mathematics & Economics, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Research Interests:
Machine Learning and Data Mining
M. Zellmer may be reached by email at: jason.zellmer@email.ucr.edu

 

Jingfei Zhang

2009 B.S. Biology The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Research Interests:
Ms. Zhang may be reached by email at: jingfei.zhang@email.ucr.edu

 Naijin

Naijin Zhang

2015 B.S. Statistics, Hebei Economic University, College of Economic Management, Shijiazhuang, PRC
Research Interests:
Ms. Zhang may be reached by email at: naijin.zhang@email.ucr.edu

 Yifan

Yifan Zhang

2014 B.S. Statistics, UC Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
Research Interests:
Financial Statistics and Data Mining
Mr. Zhang may be reached by email at: yifan.zhang@email.ucr.edu

 Mi

Mi Zhou

2010 B.S. Economics, Sichuan Normal University, Chengdu/Sichuan, PRC
Research Interests:
Data Mining, Financial Statistics
Ms. Zhou may be reached by email at: mi.zhou@email.ucr.edu

 Xiaoyang Zhou

Xiaoyang Zhou

2012 B.S. Statistics, Zhengzhou University, PRC
2014 M.S. Statistics, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
Research Interests: Financial Statistics
Ms. Zhou may be reached by email at: xiaoyang.zhou@email.ucr.edu

 Zhou

Yangmei Zhou


Research Interests:
Ms. Zhou may be reached by email at: mi.zhou@email.ucr.edu

Recent Graduates

  • Lei Gong, Ph.D. 9/2015
  • Zijian Huang, Ph.D. 9/2015
  • Hyunkyoung Kim, Ph.D. 9/2015
  • Roberto Crackel, Ph.D. 3/2015
  • Zongpeng Zheng, Ph.D. 12/2014
  • Zhen Xiao, Ph.D. 8/2014

  • Hu Cao (Tiger), M.S. 6/2015

  • Man Ting Chiu, M.S. 6/2015
  • Vadim Kandalov, M.S. 6/2015
  • Aijuan Kong, M.S. 6/2015
  • Yan Lam Mathew Lau, M.S. 6/2015
  • Lu Liu, M.S. 6/2015
  • Tiffany Wong, M.S. 6/2015
  • Xin Xu, M.S. 6/2015

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Department Information

Department of Statistics
1337 Olmsted Hall

Tel: (951) 827-3774
Fax: (951) 827-3286
E-mail: Paula Lemire - Administrative Assistant

Footer